Last night, I attended my first “formal” cake decorating class. I had been wanting to take one for a while and was pretty excited about it, buying everything I needed three to four weeks in advance of the first day.

I was pretty disappointed.

First off, we didn’t really do anything for the first hour and half of the two hour class. Then, we played with icing and decorated two cookies.

I think the majority of my problem with the class is that I already know how to use a pastry bag and pipe icing. I know how to use different decorating tips. I used to work in a bakery. I wanted to learn fundamentals, but really, not this broken down.

Did we really need to spend an hour discussing how to bake a cake and flip it out of the pan? Really? Do these people live under rocks?

What really got to me as well was the fact that we are supposed to bring about thirty things to class next week. I’m going to have to go and buy out most of the stuff at the craft store. Hopefully, I’ll at least have a pretty cake to show for it.

In other news, it’s Friday! I’m psyched for the weekend and ready to spend some time relaxing.